BIPPA Regional Conference for the North and Scotland

With the generous support of 



The British and Irish Postgraduate Philosophy Association (BIPPA) is delighted to announce our Regional Conference for Scotland and the North of England. The theme of the conference is Women in the History of Philosophy, centuries 17th-20th. The event is scheduled to take place the 9th December 2022, at Newcastle University. The deadline for abstract submission is the 28th October 2022. 

Regional conferences are conceived as a way for students in local and regional communities to get to know each other, and create a enriching philosophical community in the vicinity. Therefore, we are accepting proposals for talks in any topic related to the theme of the conference, broadly understood, from postgraduate students based in the North of England or in Scotland. If you have doubts on whether this apply to you, please check the list of universities below. People who have previously completed a postgraduate degree in philosophy and are in the transition to another are also welcome, regardless of their enrolment status. We especially encourage applications from all who identify as members of underrepresented groups in academia. Some travel bursaries will be available for students who are not based in Newcastle. We will also do our best to provide childcare support for presenters with caring responsibilities. For any further information, don’t hesitate to contact us at

Speakers will be asked to prepare a presentation of around 20 minutes and take friendly and constructive feedback from audience members. To express interest, please fill out this minimal application: 


In our form, you will be asked to fill out this information:

  • Name
  • E-mail
  • Latest institution
  • Title
  • Abstract (approx. 500 words)

Universities in the North of England and Scotland:

University of Aberdeen
Manchester Metropolitan University
University of Liverpool
University of Glasgow
University of Cumbria
University of York
University of Leeds
Durham University
Lancaster University
University of Stirling
University of Manchester
University of St Andrews
University of Edinburgh
Bangor University
Newcastle University
University of Central Lancashire
Liverpool Hope University
Open University